US literary lion wins award in Spain

LAST UPDATED: 5 Jul, 2012 @ 14:31
0
SHARE
US literary lion wins award in Spain

US author Philip Roth has won one of Spain’s top literary awards after being praised for his ‘fluid, incisive writing’.

The 79-year-old Pulitzer Prize winner was handed the prestigious Prince of Asturias gong in recognition of his contribution to American literature.

The writer – whose books include American Pastoral, Portnoy’s Complaint and The Human Stain – walked away with the €50,000 prize at a ceremony in Oviedo. The award, named after Prince Felipe, is one of eight annual prizes handed out by the Asturias Foundation.

“The narrative work of Philip Roth forms part of the great American novel, in the tradition of F. Scott Fitzgerald, Ernest Hemingway and Saul Bellow,” said a spokesman.

BE THE FIRST TO COMMENT...

The Olive Press are not responsible and do not moderate individual comments before they are posted. Anyone who uses racist, sexist, homophobic or xenophobic language or hate speech will be blocked.

HAVE YOUR SAY...