IT was the first ever Gibraltar darts trophy sponsored by the government with a top prize of 20,000 euros.
But the shine was taken off its victory by Phil ‘The Power’ Taylor, when it emerged he had actually cheated in the semi-final.
The 13-times world champion apparently won the match against Dean Winstanley with a double 12 that actually wasn’t.
Video cameras show that the dart had actually missed, scoring zero.
Now former star Eric Bristow has dubbed Taylor a cheat, saying: “The player knows if it’s not in and has to declare it. You don’t want cheats.”
Taylor claims he had not noticed and the international darts body insists it will not act because neither the referee, Winstanley or Taylor failed to raise any concern at the time.