Trocadero Marbella Rugby Club win Andalucian championship

It is the first time the Marbella-based club has won the title

LAST UPDATED: 27 Apr, 2016 @ 15:09

MArbella rugbyTROCADERO Marbella Rugby Club have been crowned Andalucian champions for the first time following a stunning 24-10 victory over Sevilla’s San Jeronimo.

Augusto Nunez opened the scoring for Marbella with a 20th minute try before two penalties from Andres Costa put the Costa del Sol side 11-0 ahead at Puerto Santa Maria.

San Jeronimo responded with a converted try, but a drop goal by skipper Kike Gonzalez and Rodrigo Stuven’s try stretched Marbella’s lead to 21-7.

In the second half, both teams traded successful penalties before two straight reds for San Jeronimo and one for Marbella reduced numbers on the pitch.

Roared on by a large travelling Marbella contingent, Trocadero held their nerve and the lead to claim a famous victory.

The team dedicated the win to Javier García de la Peña, who was injured in the semifinal.


The Olive Press are not responsible and do not moderate individual comments before they are posted. Anyone who uses racist, sexist, homophobic or xenophobic language or hate speech will be blocked.