31 Jan, 2018 @ 13:50
1 min read

Spain moves to block Kosovo’s bid to be part of the EU

kosovo blog
KOSOVO: Attempts to join EU are being blocked

SPAIN has challenged the EU’s enlargement strategy to bring western Balkan states into the fold. 

Brussels is currently in the process of bringing six western Balkan states – Albania, Bosnia, Kosovo, Macedonia, Montenegro, and Serbia – into the EU.

Known as ‘WB6’ they have all been EU membership one day, indicative of the EU’s need to curtail Russian interference.

But Spain says Kosovo, who declared independence from Serbia in 2008, cannot join because they do not recognise it as a sovereign country and have sent a letter to the EU opposing the strategy.

“The concept of ‘WB6’ does not fit the enlargement dynamic. Kosovo is not part of the enlargement process and has its own differentiated framework,” the Spanish foreign ministry said in a letter sent to the European Commission.



Previous Story

Wild cat chase in Spain discovers ‘dangerous black panther’ is actually ‘just a shaggy dog’

ryanair lose licence
Next Story

Ryanair announce ‘lowest price promise’ which will give customers the difference and more if cheaper fare found

Latest from Lead

Go toTop

More From The Olive Press