2 Nov, 2018 @ 16:49
1 min read

Disaster zone declared in Spain’s Malaga, Sevilla and Cadiz as flood costs soar past €30 million

PILE UP: Police assess damage caused by flash floods

SPAIN’S government has declared areas of Malaga, Sevilla and Cadiz as disaster zones following last month’s flash floods. 

According to the Insurance Compensation Consortium, there is set to be more than 5,200 claims spread across Malaga alone, with more than €32 million in damages inflicted upon the province.

The declaration means there will be ‘targeted aid’ from Madrid for the areas affected by the floods, in particular in Teba, Campillos, Ronda and Estepona.

The payouts will be exempt from tax.

The Vice President of the Government, Carmen Calvo, voiced solidarity and underlined the support and the responsibility of the Government ‘in these circumstances’.


Laurence Dollimore

Laurence has a BA and MA in International Relations and a Gold Standard diploma in Multi-Media journalism from News Associates in London. He has almost a decade of experience and previously worked as a senior reporter for the Mail Online in London.

GOT A STORY? Contact [email protected] or call +34 951 273 575 Twitter: @olivepress

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Breaking news at The Olive Press
Previous Story

Teen who threw himself from Marbella El Corte Ingles had announced suicide pact plans on social media

mosque madrid central
Next Story

Discover how Islam has enriched Spain with architecture to worship

Latest from Lead

Go toTop

More From The Olive Press