18 Oct, 2019 @ 13:54
1 min read

GIBRALTAR: All the best pictures of election night as Fabian Picardo re-elected as Rock’s chief minister

Picardo embrace

FABIAN Picardo and the GSLP/Liberals have returned to govern Gibraltar with 52.5% of the vote.

The Rock’s most dominant party took 10 of the 17 seats up for grabs in the Gibraltar Parliament.

It is the third time that Picardo has won the Gibraltar elections and he is one of the most supported chief ministers ever after these elections.

Meanwhile, Together Gibraltar leader Marlene Hassan Nahon has been elected for the first time.

Despite her party only becoming official last October she received more votes than any other Opposition MP.

The other main opposition party, the GSD, led by Keith Azopardi, took six seats.

Turnout for the snap general election was 70.84%.

Picardo called the snap vote so that the new government would be in place in case there is a no-deal Brexit.

Pictures by John Culatto

Megan Brannan
Previous Story

‘Beautiful and caring’ British mum dies on family holiday in Spain

Watch_ Local Mayors Protest Feature Image From La Verdad
Next Story

WATCH: British expats and Spaniards protest after 3 million fish found dead in Spain’s Mar Menor catastrophe

Latest from Gibraltar

Go toTop

More From The Olive Press