THREE KINGS: Revellers in Malaga celebrate Epiphany yesterday

IN 2019 Spain will celebrate nine national public holidays, while Andalucia celebrates a further three regional breaks.

This gives those in Spain’s southernmost region a total of 12 public holidays this year.

Read on for the full list of Spanish holidays below.

SNOWY: Three Kings celebrations also made their way up the Sierra Nevada yesterday

Spaniards are celebrating Epiphany today, because this year their ‘day of the three kings’ fell on a weekend, yesterday on January 6.

Epiphany is almost a second Christmas for the Spanish and marks the day when the Three Wise Men are thought to have visited baby Jesus.

While not technically a national holiday, Epiphany has been declared a public holiday in all autonomous communities.

National public holidays – 9

1 Jan Tue New Year’s Day
19 Apr Fri Good Friday
1 May Wed Labour Day
15 Aug Thu Assumption of Mary
12 Oct Sat Fiesta Nacional de España
1 Nov Fri All Saints’ Day
6 Dec Fri Constitution Day
9 Dec Mon Immaculate Conception Holiday
25 Dec Wed Christmas Day

Andalucia regional holidays – 3

7 Jan Mon Epiphany Holiday
28 Feb Thu Andalusia Regional Holiday
18 Apr Thu Maundy Thursday

All regional holidays

1 Mar Fri Balearic Islands Regional Holiday Balearic Islands
19 Mar Tue St Joseph’s Day Basque Country, Castile-La
Mancha, Galicia, Murcia,
Navarre & Valencia
22 Apr Mon Easter Monday Balearic Islands, Basque
Country, Castile-La Mancha,
Catalonia, La Rioja,
Navarre & Valencia
23 Apr Tue Aragon Regional Holiday Aragon
23 Apr Tue Castile and León Regional Holiday Castile and León
2 May Thu Madrid Regional Holiday Madrid
15 May Wed San Isidro Madrid
17 May Fri Galician Literature Day Galicia
30 May Thu Canary Islands Regional Holiday Canary Islands
31 May Fri Castile-La Mancha Regional Holiday Castile-La Mancha
9 Jun Sun Murcia Regional Holiday Murcia
10 Jun Mon La Rioja Regional Holiday La Rioja
13 Jun Thu San Antonio Ceuta
20 Jun Thu Corpus Christi Castile-La Mancha
24 Jun Mon St John’s Day Catalonia & Valencia
25 Jul Thu National Day of Galicia Galicia
25 Jul Thu Saint James’ Day Basque Country
28 Jul Sun Day of the Institutions Cantabria
5 Aug Mon Our Lady of Africa Ceuta
12 Aug Mon Eid al-Adha Ceuta & Melilla
2 Sep Mon Day of Ceuta Ceuta
8 Sep Sun Asturias Regional Holiday Asturias
8 Sep Sun Extremadura Regional Holiday Extremadura
8 Sep Sun Our Lady of Victories Melilla
9 Sep Mon Our Lady of Victories Holiday Melilla
9 Sep Mon Extremadura Regional Holiday Extremadura
11 Sep Wed National Day of Catalonia Catalonia
15 Sep Sun Cantabria Regional Holiday Cantabria
17 Sep Tue Day of Melilla Melilla
9 Oct Wed Valencian Regional Holiday Valencia
9 Nov Sat Virgin of Almudena Madrid
3 Dec Tue San Francisco Javier Navarre
26 Dec Thu St Stephen’s Day Catalonia

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.