28 May, 2020 @ 22:54
1 min read

BREAKING: Malaga, Granada and whole of Valencia WILL pass into Phase 2 of Spain’s coronavirus de-escalation plan on Monday


THE whole of Andalucia and Valencia will be in Phase 2 of the coronavirus de-escalation plan on Monday. 

It comes after the Government announced today that Malaga, Granada and the rest of the Valenciana Community have shown enough progress to enter the next stage.

Meanwhile, the Canary Islands of La Gomera, El Hierro, and La Graciosa and the Balearic Island Formentera will be the first to enter Phase 3.

It means 70% of the population will be in Phase 2 next week, with just 45,000 people lucky enough to enter Phase 3, the last stage before the so-called ‘new normal’.

Some 30% of the population, however, will remain in Phase 1 after failing to improve their incidence of COVID-19 sufficiently.

This includes the Madrid region and some parts of Catalunya, which has been permitted to differentiate between health districts.

There will also be changes announced to the restrictions in each phase this weekend, which will come into effect on Monday June 1.

Laurence Dollimore

Laurence has a BA and MA in International Relations and a Gold Standard diploma in Multi-Media journalism from News Associates in London. He has almost a decade of experience and previously worked as a senior reporter for the Mail Online in London.

GOT A STORY? Contact newsdesk@theolivepress.es or call +34 951 273 575 Twitter: @olivepress

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Previous Story

Chief Minister thanks Gibraltar in Parliament for COVID-19 response

clubbing Spain
Next Story

‘DISASTROUS’: Phase 3 restrictions on nightclubs such as markers on dancefloors blasted by business owners in Spain’s Mallorca and Ibiza

Latest from Lead

Go toTop

More From The Olive Press