24 Jun, 2020 @ 18:02
1 min read

EU plans to ban travellers from the US when borders open


TRAVELLERS from the US are set to be barred from entering the EU once borders reopen next week, it has been announced.

Starting from July 1, the EU will open its external borders, which have been closed since March 16.

Only citizens from countries that are considered epidemiologically safe will be allowed to enter.

The choice of countries from which residents are allowed to enter is based on three criteria: The health situation, the ability to apply containment measures before the trip and whether they will allow EU travellers in a reciprocal manner.

Following discussions earlier today between the EU member states, applying this parameter would mean that travellers from the US, Russia and Brazil would all be left out.

None of the three countries seem to have the virus under control, with the number of infected patients in each being the highest worldwide.

Although the decision is quite delicate politically, Brussels recalled that the US was the first to close its borders to Europeans, without prior notice.

Other countries, such as New Zealand for example, although they have managed to contain the pandemic, may not be allowed to enter, as the Kiwis are refusing to reopen their borders to Europeans.

Dimitris Kouimtsidis

GOT A STORY? Contact me now: [email protected] or call +34 951 273 575 or +44 75 358 167 18. Twitter: @dkouimtsidis.
Dimitris has a BA in History from the University of Leeds and an MA in Journalism (Sports) from the University of Lincoln.
He joined the Olive Press team as a journalist in January 2020.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Previous Story

EA signs new 10 year deal for Spanish football with La Liga

Breaking news at The Olive Press
Next Story

BREAKING: Number of new coronavirus infections in Spain nearly doubles in last 24 hours

Latest from Lead

Go toTop

More From The Olive Press