jorge-lorenzo-motogpSPAIN’S Jorge Lorenzo led from start to finish  in the Spanish MotoGP race at Jerez de la Frontera.

It was the Yamaha rider’s first podium  of the season, and the victory came after the team confirmed the two-time world champion would be kept on next year.

Italian Valentino Rossi took third to become the first man to claim 200 podium finishes and retains the championship lead.

Spanish MotoGP results:

1. Jorge Lorenzo (Spain) Yamaha 44:57.246

2. Marc Marquez (Spain) Honda 45:02.822

3. Valentino Rossi (Italy) Yamaha 45:08.832

4. Cal Crutchlow (Britain) Honda 45:19.973

5. Pol Espargaro (Spain) Yamaha 45:23.866

6. Andrea Iannone (Italy) Ducati 45:24.267

7. Aleix Espargaro (Spain) Suzuki 45:32.691

8. Bradley Smith (Britain) Yamaha 45:33.542

9. Andrea Dovizioso (Italy) Ducati 45:39.179

10. Yonny Hernandez (Colombia) Ducati 45:48.318

Karl Smallman

About Karl Smallman

DO YOU HAVE NEWS FOR US at Spain’s most popular English newspaper - the Olive Press? Contact us now via email: [email protected] or call 951 273 575. To contact the newsdesk out of regular office hours please call +34 665 798 618.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.