MALAGA and Granada will enter Phase 1 of the COVID-19 de-escalation plan on Monday. 

The announcement was made by director of health emergencies Fernando Simon alongside health minister Salvador Illa on Friday night.

Madrid will remain in Phase 0 following ‘important discussions’ with regional leaders, added Simon.

In Castilla-La Mancha, Toledo, Ciudad Real and Albacete will also advance into Phase 1.

Parts of Catalunya and areas of Barcelona will also remain in Phase 0, as will the majority of Castilla y Leon.

In total, some 30% of the population will remain in Phase 0.

Meanwhile, the island of Formentera and the three Canary Islands which passed into Phase 1 last week will enter Phase 2 on Monday (May 18).

The rest of Valencia region will also pass into Phase 1, as revealed by government sources earlier on Friday.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.