THE Junta de Andalucia has announced it will close the borders of Granada city and 32 of its municipalities due to coronavirus.

The Official Gazette of the Junta (BOJA) will publish the new order tonight, along with the details of the curfew, with both being in effect from Monday.

It is expected to decree that those living in the affected towns will be prohibited from entering or exiting unless for exceptional reasons.

These typically include medical, educational or work needs.

The curfew will be in place from 11pm to 6am in urban centres of Granada.

However the regional government is still awaiting approval from the Superior Court of Justice of Andalucia to implement it.

BOJA will also publish the new capacity restrictions and closing hours affecting 17 other municipalities across Sevilla, Cordoba and Jaen.

The measures will apply to the capitals of all three provinces.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.