12 Jan, 2016 @ 11:02
1 min read

Spain’s La Liga produces world’s best player for EIGHTH year in a row


LIONEL Messi has been awarded the Ballon d’Or for the best player in the world for a fifth time. Messi

The Argentine saw off Portugal captain Cristiano Ronaldo and Brazilian Neymar with a landslide 41.33% of the vote last night.

He previously won the award four years in a row from 2009 to 2012, with Ronaldo reigning over the last two years.

Between the pair of them, they have won the last eight Ballon d’Ors.

Messi, 28, scored 52 goals in 61 games in 2015, as well as providing 26 assists.

Meanwhile, Ronaldo, 30, scored 57 goals in as many games.

“It’s a very special moment for me to be back here on this stage, winning again another Ballon d’Or after seeing Cristiano win it,” Messi said.

“It’s incredible that it’s my fifth, much more than anything I would have dreamed of as a kid.”

Tom Powell

DO YOU HAVE NEWS FOR US at Spain’s most popular English newspaper - the Olive Press? Contact us now via email: [email protected] or call 951 273 575. To contact the newsdesk out of regular office hours please call +34 665 798 618.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

PP antonio sanz e
Previous Story

25,000 jobs to be created in Campo de Gibraltar in next four years

Olive fight
Next Story

Olive farmers form vigilante groups to stop criminal gangs poaching their produce

Latest from National News

Go toTop

More From The Olive Press